Facebook Messenger Now Lets You Un-Send Messages, Using 'Remove for Everyone'

Isaac Cain
February 6, 2019

Remember past year when Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg purged some of his messages from various Messenger conversations? On Messenger's web app, you can remove messages by hovering over the button with three dots alongside your chat bubbles, and clicking on the "Remove" button to clear them. The deleted text will be replaced by an alert indicating that the message was removed. When you tap on it via the Messenger App for iOS or Android, two options will appear: the previously available "Remove For You", and "Remove For Everyone".

This allows you to remove accidentally sent messages so that they're gone for everyone in the conversation, deleted once and for all.

Facebook Messenger's new un-send feature. Instead, we're limited by a timer of 10 minutes that starts ticking down the moment the offending message is originally sent. Still, if you say something and immediately regret it, you'll be able to unsend it starting today.

More news: Adam Levine likened to an 'awkward stripper' during Super Bowl performance

The functionality was originally introduced for Facebook executives in 2014, after Sony Pictures' email accounts were hacked.

It was recently revealed that Facebook is planning to "integrate" WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger.

Facebook has seen unprecedented success by amassing more than 2.3 billion people worldwide who actively use the social network to share updates, obtain information and connect with new people. By the end of 2004, Thefacebook had more than 1 million registered users and the newly-founded company behind it had not only moved to Silicon Valley but also secured a $500,000 investment from PayPal co-founder Peter Thiel. But TechCrunch found that Zuckerberg had gone back as far as 2010 to unsend some of his own messages, including messages sent to non-Facebook employees.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER