Australia take charge as India batsmen crumble

Lynette Rowe
December 7, 2018

Tail-ender Mohammed Shami survived to stumps on six, with Jasprit Bumrah the last batsman to resume on day two.

Pujara's 16th test century saved India after a disastrous start that saw them slump to 86 for five after lunch, falling to a combination of awful shot-making and quality Australian pace after captain Virat Kohli won the toss.

India finished the opening day at 250/9, on the back of a battling 123 from Cheteshwar Pujara, and they failed to add to the total.

"I don't think we've seen a quarter of what that boy can do". One good day isn't going to win a series.

"I think we've planned and prepared really well for this week and had a lot of vision to look at, and how India have played in the past".

In the process he passed 5,000 Test runs for his 16th Test century, even as the wickets tumbled around him, including superstar captain Virat Kohli for three.

More news: New sweep nabs accused Italian Mafia figures across Europe

Having crawled to his half-century, Pujara ramped up as he ran out of partners, slogging a couple of sixes as shadows crept across the ground.

Batting after Kohli won the toss, the visitors crumbled in a disastrous morning session under a pace barrage before digging in later in the day with Pujara and Ravi Ashwin (25 off 76 balls) staging a fightback as the bowlers exhausted.

VideoVirat Kohli is out already after Usman Khawaja unleashed an early catch of the summer contender off Pat Cummins' bowling. 25-year-old Hanuma Vihar, who made his debut at the Kennington Oval against England, was called up to the 12-member squad, although India chose to field Sharma instead.

"Stuck my hand out and it stuck".

"They are pretty poor shots, really, from top-order global players", Ricky Ponting said in commentary for the Seven Network.

Having lost the prodigal teenager Prithvi Shaw to an injury in the warm-up match against Cricket Australia XI, India have selected K. L. Rahul and Murali Vijay as the two openers for the first Test, with Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper) comprising the rest of the batting order. "I think we'd bite your arm off".

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article