Anthem alpha testing starts on 8th Dec, still time to sign up

Isaac Cain
December 1, 2018

If you're in, you'll see a confirmation on the Community Playtesting site and you'll get an email letting you know how to download the Anthem closed alpha game client. There will be multiple sessions which participants can partake in, but you are limited to only one device for the alpha, whether its Xbox One, PlayStation 4, or PC. Players with a subscription to EA Access or a pre-order for Anthem will not be given priority access or be guaranteed a shot at this first closed alpha. Anthem, of course, took the lion's share of the discussion, with the game past its alpha milestone and now in the hands of the developers for what Hudson calls their "play from home" phase. That's next weekend, in case you hadn't guessed by now, though EA stresses that not everyone who signs up for the playtest will be guaranteed entry into all (or indeed any) of the scheduled sessions. As is typical for an alpha, this will be used to test out matchmaking, server loads, and more. EA has announced an upcoming closed alpha, and sign-ups for it are now live ahead of the test kicking off next week. Approved testers will get emailed a download link ahead of the 8 December.

The developers are hard at work to make sure that the new game is ready when its release date rolls around. And we're able to do one of my favorite parts of game development: "the Play From Home build". As a reminder the general release date for Anthem is 22 Feb, but this date moves forward to 15 Feb for Origin Access and EA Access members.

More news: Priyanka Chopra and Nick Jonas marry in India

The Game Awards kicks off 6 December at 1:30am GMT/8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT, so tune infor possible Dragon Age gossip, and more.

You will need a GTX 970 or AMD's R9 390 for running this game on your PC.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER