Keuchel wins Gold Glove Award

Lynette Rowe
November 7, 2018

Red Sox fans definitely wanted to see the last Gold Glove to go to Benintendi so that their entire outfield could have been recognized for their elite defense. He was seeking his first Glove Glove in his career.

Unfortunately for Smoak and the Jays, though, Oakland's Matt Olson, who was spectacular almost all season long, was given the award, also edging out Mitch Moreland of the Boston Red Sox, who himself won a Gold Glove Award in 2016. This was a good moment for baseball fans to realize that the 2018 Red Sox weren't just about mashing the ball - they played disciplined defense too.

Wong committed nine errors in 119 games at second.

D-backs ace Zack Greinke earned his fifth consecutive Gold Glove - his third with Arizona - after beating San Diego's Clayton Richard and Atlanta's Julio Teheran. Freeman and Rizzo tied for the award at first base, and center fielder Ender Inciarte and right fielder Nick Markakis also were honored for the Braves.

More news: US Elections: Referendum on Trump’s presidency? - Rabobank

The Red Sox were well represented when it came to the announcement of this season's American League Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners.

Corey Dickerson has been named as the Rawlings Gold Glove victor for National League left fielders. Wong finished as a runner up to victor D.J. LeMahieu of the Colorado Rockies.

Surpassing the 200-inning total for the first time since his Cy Young award season in 2015, Keuchel is entering the free agent market as one of the best options at starting pitcher. Houston pitcher Dallas Keuchel and Los Angeles Angels shortstop Andrelton Simmons also won in the AL.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article