Facebook message about your account being cloned is a hoax

Isaac Cain
October 8, 2018

It sounds like a valid warning with Facebook's recent security breach, but is it for real?

The message is fake and by forwarding it your Facebook friends or followers it only persists in spreading the hoax.

According to the Albany Times-Union, the cloning rumor is being spread through Facebook Messenger.

Basically, people are being duped into thinking their accounts have been "cloned". The attackers exploited a vulnerability in Facebook's code that impacted "View As", a feature that lest people see what their own profile looks like to someone else.

A spokesperson reportedly told them, "Claiming to be another person on Facebook violates our Community Standards, and we have a dedicated team that's tasked with helping to detect and block these kinds of scams".

More news: Max Verstappen: Sebastian Vettel 'drove into the side of my car'

Experts urge people who get these messages to just delete them. From that point on they can write what they want under your name.

Facebook hacks mean somebody has access to your account and any information or messages within it. "Please DO NOT accept a 2nd friend request from "me". please forward to all your contacts".

The massive social hoax started when you, or someone you know, received a message from a Facebook friend saying they've received a friend request from you, WXYZ reports. The message then instructs the user to "hold your finger on the message until the forward button appears...then hit forward..."

The message reads as above. Your best bet is to do as Facebook suggest and just getting rid.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER