Nintendo Switch Online finally has a concrete launch date

Isaac Cain
September 13, 2018

Individual membership is separated into three tiers: $3.99 for one month; $7.99 for three months and $19.99 for 12 months. Originally set to launch in 2017, Nintendo ended up having to delay the service multiple times before eventually landing on the second half of September.

In case you've forgotten, the service will work basically like the Xbox Live or PlayStation Plus: You'll pay to play certain games online, get access to cloud saves, and basically anything else that requires connection.

As an important aside, Nintendo Accounts will be permanently linked to Nintendo Switch user accounts after the Nintendo Switch firmware update.

More news: Delhi High Court to hear petition against rising fuel prices today

In addition, Nintendo Switch eShop maintenance has been announced.

Nintendo Direct will kick off tomorrow at 11pm GMT. At this point, there aren't a ton of games that will require a Switch Online subscription, simply due to the fact that there aren't many that have an online multiplayer component.

The release date for the much-anticipated service was revealed on Wednesday, when Nintendo also said its delayed Direct will be streamed on Thursday at 3 p.m. PT (6 p.m. ET/11 p.m. GMT/9:00 a.m. Friday AEST).

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER