Mohamed Salah wins the FIFA Puskas Award

Lynette Rowe
September 24, 2018

Tonight, football's greatest talents will gather in London for FIFA's The Best gala.

Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Best Men's Award for the last three years, but looks like he and Lionel Messi are absent for tonight's grand award ceremony.

The Spain global defender won the Champions League with Real last season, completing three in a row under then-manager Zinedine Zidane.

The 2017-18 campaign was another standout season for Portugal forward Ronaldo. Portugal suffered a disappointing last-16 exit from the 2018 World Cup in Russian Federation, after which he moved to Juventus in a 112 million euros (£99.2m) transfer.

Modrić is expected to win the award after playing a huge part in taking Real Madrid to a third consecutive Champions League and Croatia to a World Cup final.

"I hope that Luka will be the best player in the world", Croatia manager Zlatko Dalic told AFP.

Ronaldo and Messi had won every FIFA World Player of the Year award, which was renamed the FIFA Ballon d'Or in 2010 and The Best in 2016, since 2007 when Kaka was victorious.

More news: Woods eagles 18 to make 65 at Tour Championship

"He deserves it because he was the best player in the Club World Cup and the best player in the World Cup".

Ronaldo and Messi boast 10 Ballon d'Or titles between them, but could find their stranglehold over the top individual honors broken this time around, at least if the recent UEFA Player of the Year award is anything to go by.

Salah secured the Premier League Golden Boot in his first season at Liverpool and also accumulated 44 goals in all competitions as the Reds finished as runners-up in Europe's premier club competition.

Meanwhile, Ronaldo will not be able to travel because of his commitments at Juventus.

The star-studded event will also see the best Women's Player, Men's Coach, Women's Coach and Men's Goalkeeper crowned, as well as picking Goal of the Year.

In the women's category, Lyon duo Ada Hegerberg and Dzsenifer Marozsan will fight with Orlando Pride's Marta for the crown, whilst the coaching award will be for Lyon's Reynald Pedros, Japan's Asako Takakura or the Netherlands' Sarina Weigman.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article