Pak Poll Body Demands Apology From Imran Khan For Code Violation

Lynette Rowe
August 13, 2018

According to reports, Imran Khan is expected to take oath of the office on Augsut 14.

Iranian President Hassan Rouhani on Wednesday telephoned former cricket hero Imran Khan to congratulate him over his party's victory in July 25 elections, local media reported.

Pakistan's Prime Minister-in-waiting Imran Khan has said his government will build a more "balanced and trustworthy" relationship with the U.S., asserting that the trust deficit between the two countries has resulted in many ups and downs in the bilateral ties.

"I am that Pakistani who believes that economy in South Asia could improve only after trade between India and Pakistan receives a boost", Khan had said, further adding that he would take "two steps" towards India, if the "first step comes from New Delhi". Television footage showed him accompanied by friends and supporters, as he publicly stamped the ballot paper on the presiding officer's table instead of going behind the voting screen. Elections for the speaker, deputy speaker and the leader of the House will take place after the MNAs-elect take oath.

More news: EPL: Sarri names one player he regrets not signing for Chelsea

The PTI statement quoted Bisaria as saying that Prime Minister Narendra Modi's phone call to Khan had given rise to "new optimism in India that relations would move forward positively".

With the withdrawal of its notice, the commission also ordered issuance of notification for Imran's victory in NA-53 Islamabad constituency, which had been withheld due to Khan's violation of electoral code of conduct.

According to Section 185 of the Election Act, a person can be given a six-month jail sentence and/or fine of Rs 1,000 for not casting their vote in secrecy.

On July 30, the ECP had sought a written reply from Khan, who has been nominated by the PTI as the next Prime Minister after the party emerged as the largest in the National Assembly in the election. Imran's party garnered 116 seats in the 272-member National Assembly, however, they can't form a government as the numbers required are 137 in order to do the same.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article