Phil Mickelson apologizes 4 days after violating golf rules at US Open

Lynette Rowe
June 22, 2018

The five-time major victor explained that he realized his initial putt was going to wind up well off the green and he "just didn't feel like going back and forth and hitting the same shot over", so he "took the two-shot penalty and moved on". He took a two-stroke penalty for the play, but was lucky to avoid a disqualification.

"No question, it was going to go down in the same spot behind the bunker", he added.

"Look, I don't mean disrespect to anybody", Mickelson said after the incident on Saturday. He says: "My anger and frustration got the best of me last weekend".

His playing partner, Andrew "Beef" Johnston, couldn't believe Mickelson's move.

Mickelson, whose 48th birthday was Saturday, tried to laugh off the calamity for the rest of his round Saturday and, when he parred the 13th on Sunday, did a mock celebration as if he'd just won a tournament, joking afterward that he won "most improved" on that hole.

Many thought he should have been disqualified under Rule 1-2, and many felt Mickelson ruined the spirit of the game by willfully breaking a rule out of frustration.

Amid the calls for his removal from the tournament, Mickelson on Saturday did meet with USGA officials to discuss whether he should withdraw.

"I said, 'That's one of the strangest things I've ever seen, ' and then just started laughing", Johnston said, according to Golfchannel.com.

More news: Florida rapper XXXTentacion has been shot and killed aged 20

Phil Mickelsonand caddie Tim Mickelson walk on the seventh hole during the final round of the 2018 U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club on June 17, 2018 in Southampton, N.Y.

In one of his tweets, Mickelson said: Here's a scenario.

On the European Tour, US Open runner-up Tommy Fleetwood is the star attraction in the BMW International Open where Paul McBride is the only Irish player in action at Golf Club Gut Laerchenhof.

Said a father of four in NY and an occasional weekend golfer, "He did something stupid". I don't think he needed to justify it.

The victor, ultimately, was Brooks Koepka, for the second year in a row; he shot 16 under par over four days.

The report said Mickelson's wife, Amy Mickelson, said her husband had offered to disqualify himself from the event to USGA president Mike Davis.

This article has been updated.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER