Karolina Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair With Racket After Loss

Lynette Rowe
May 17, 2018

Karolina Pliskova took to the umpire's chair with her racquet after a bad call.

Czech former world number one woman tennis player Karolína Plíšková is likely to face a fine after a temper tantrum when she exited the second round of the Italian Open in Rome.

Locked at 40-40 and 5-5 in the third set with the 42nd ranked Maria Sakkari, Pliskova put away an overhead which was incorrectly deemed to have missed the sideline. Pliskova argued but the call ultimately stood even though replay clearly showed Pliskova's ball catching the line.

More news: Exploding vape pen blamed for Florida man's death

Sakkari grabbed that opportunity with both hands and successfully served out the match for a 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 win as the embittered Pliskova failed to produce any fightback.

Sakkari visibly winced as Pliskova vented her fury, taking several steps backwards before the Czech had stormed off, before shaking the umpire's hand.

Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna, who is also a professional player, threw her support behind her sibling by calling out the horrendous umpire decision. For Sakkari it was the first top five win of her career and she will face the victor of the second-round match between Angelique Kerber of Germany and Romania's Irina-Camelia Begu.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER