Voting for Araria Lok Sabha seat and Assembly Constituencies of Bhabua & Jehanabad

Frederick Owens
March 12, 2018

In Bihar, apart from the Lok Sabha seat, two assembly seats of Jehanabad and Bhabua are also being contested.

Official sources said here that voters are casting their votes for Araria Lok Sabha seat, Jehanabad assembly seat and Bhabhua assembly seat where by-polls were necessitated following deaths of sitting representatives.

The by-election in Bihar is seen a referendum on Chief Minister Nitish Kumar's alliance with the BJP that was crafted a year ago at the expense of the ties with RJD and the Congress. Lalu Yadav's party, which held Araria, had repeatedly called it a violation of the anti-BJP mandate delivered by the people of Bihar in the 2015 assembly elections. According to a report, 57% voting in Araria, 54.03% in Bhabhua and 50.6% in Jehanabad was recorded on Sunday.

The bypolls in Araria in Bihar were necessitated following the death of sitting RJD MP Mohammad Taslimuddin previous year.

Also, in Araria, a seat that fell vacant after the death of RJD lawmaker Mohd Taslimuddin, the party has fielded his son Sarfaraz Alam, looking to capitalize on Muslim and Yadav voters who make up a big chunk of the electorate.

While 47 per cent of the voters exercised their franchise in Gorakhpur, where UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath cast his ballot, the turnout in Phulpur was lower at 38 per cent, the state election office said.

More news: Stormy Daniels says Trump scandal good for business

Seven candidates are battling it out in Araria parliamentary constituency. You all may know that Mr. Alam is locked in a direct contest with the BJP's Pradip Singh who came second in the 2014 general elections but had won the seat in 2009.

But past year, Nitish Kumar ended the alliance and came back at the head of another government formed with the BJP - a move that has been repeatedly castigated by Lalu Yadav and his son Tejashwi Yadav.

Counting of votes will take place on March 14. The saffron party has fielded Pandey's wife Rinky Rani and her principal challenger is Congress candidate Shambhu Singh Patel.

These bypolls being the first elections after CM and JD (U) stalwart Nitish Kumar walked out of the grand alliance and formed a government in alliance with BJP in July 2017, they are being widely viewed as a mini-referendum on the ruling NDA.

A total of ten candidates are in the fray from Gorakhpur, while 22 candidates are in the arena from Phulpur.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article