Facebook-owned WhatsApp extends message deletion time

Isaac Cain
March 13, 2018

When the user deletes a message for everyone, WhatsApp sends a new message to the recipient.

Facebook-owned WhatsApp is changing the amount of time you have to delete messages you've sent for all recipients.

Nevertheless, having a grace period of one hour can prove beneficial especially to those who want to erase past messages that may be misconstrued or incriminating.

It's not clear why the limit is now so specific, apart from being 2^12, and the WhatsApp support pages don't provide any additional info on the time limit. Meanwhile, rival messaging app Telegram gives users 48 hours to unsend messages.

More news: Ireland knock England down to third in world rankings

Will the deleted message disappear completely? But, a secret conversation can only be deleted from one side, i.e., if a member eliminates the conversation from their device, the other people in the conversation still have it. "A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on AppStore".

Vanishing conversations are all the rage these days, and it's one feature that WhatsApp notably lacks.

"Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with 'This message was deleted' in your recipients' chats", WhatsApp explains on a FAQ page about the feature. If they don't turn their phone on in 24 hours, the message will not be deleted. However, the function comes with a pretty major caveat: the messages can only be deleted within seven minutes of sending them.

There's no word on if this quoted-text workaround will be solved by WhatsApp at some point in the future, so for now, you still have to message with some caution. If they went over the time limit they couldn't delete the message.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article