CM Manik Sarkar, BJP state president cast their vote

Frederick Owens
February 21, 2018

Polling began amid tight security in 59 of the total 60 seats in Tripura on Sunday. The number of voters under the third gender category in the state is 11 and that of the new voters 47,803.

The results of the polling will be declared on March 3.

"Over 75 per cent electorate had cast their votes till 4 p.m".

People stand in queues to cast their votes at a polling station on the outskirts of Agartala on Sunday.

There were reports of malfunctioning of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) at some polling stations, which were rectified.

According to the figures released by the Election Commission, the voter turnout stood at 74 per cent.

"Voting was entirely peaceful and incident-free".

Due to death of CPI (M) nominee Ramendra Narayan Debbarma of Charilam in Sepahijala district was postponed from where as many as 40,000 odd voters would supposed to decide the fate of 4 candidates.

To conduct the elections, 3,214 polling stations, including 47 all-women stations, will be set up across Tripura.

The CPM has fielded candidates on 57 seats, leaving one each for its alliances.

The BJP, keen on expanding its footprint in the Northeast has tied up with the Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), considering that there are 32 percent tribal voters in the state.

It also sought that the observer should be available at duly notified places and time so that candidates, election agents and other party functionaries can meet and present their complaints.

More news: Oxfam intimidates sex scandal victims

Twenty seats have been reserved for the Scheduled Tribes.

The Trinamool Congress has fielded 24 candidates.

Of the 60 seats, 20 are reserved for tribals and 10 for Scheduled Caste.

He said two crude bombs were detected and disposed of by security personnel.

Earlier this week, senior Congress leaders including Puducherry CM V Narayanasamy, former Maharashtra CM Prithviraj Chavan, and former Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat also addressed election rallies in Tripura. "People strongly wish for a BJP government in Tripura".

In a memorandum it submitted to the EC here on Thursday, the BJP stated that going by past several elections in the state, the CPI (M) had indulged in "mass-scale rigging" and "subverted with impunity the electoral processes by spreading rumours, intimidating voters and unleashing violence".

Tripura became a full-fledged state in January 1972 along with Meghalaya and Manipur.

The campaigning for the state legislative assembly election concluded on February 16.The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress are looking to root out the Communist Party of India (Marxist), which has been ruling the state for the past 25 years.

The CPI (M) has been ruling Tripura since 25 years under the leadership of Manik Sarkar, who's eyeing a record fifth term. The Congress, on the other hand, is fighting the battle alone.

However, the BJP has been criticised by the Left for tying up with the IPFT that wants a separate state of Tipraland to be carved out of Tripura for tribal-dominated areas, despite BJP saying that it is against the bifurcation of the state.

The separate state demand has been rejected by all political parties. Find us on Facebook too!

The reproduction of the story/photograph in any form will be liable for legal action.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article