Kohli rules ICC awards, claims top honours

Lynette Rowe
January 19, 2018

After a prolific run with the willow last year, India skipper Virat Kohli on Thursday swept the International Cricket Council (ICC) annual awards as the 29-year won the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for being the World Cricketer of the Year 2017.

Pakistan's ICC Champions Trophy 2017 win over arch-rivals India in June was adjudged the ICC Fans Moment of the Year.

He also played a massive role in Pakistan's Champions Trophy win in England - making him a shoo-in for the emerging player gong.

Pakistan's Champions Trophy victory was named ICC Fans' Moment of the Year.

Virat Kohli was magnificent with the bat past year churning runs at his will and easily. It is a record for an Associate player in a calendar year.

Kohli is the now the second-ranked batsman in Tests, only behind Smith.

More news: Wells Fargo Glitch Leaves Customers With Empty Bank Accounts

Yuzvendra Chahal won the award of the best T20I performance of the year.

ODI Team of the Year: Virat Kohli (captain), David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah. The India captain, who had started the series at No.2, had slipped down to No.3 after his twin failures of the Cape Town Test.

Virat Kohli won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year award. Though the coup de grace was his performance in the Ashes, scoring runs with such frequency that comparisons with Don Bradman was made with every passing innings, he has been in sublime form for at least four years, scoring over 1000 Test runs in each of them. Smith had led his team to a dominating 4-0 win over England in the Ashes.

Women's World Cup victor Anya Shrubsole was awarded the ICC's spirit of cricket award for consoling South African players after she hit the winning runs in England's semi-final victory.

The Test side has three Australians (Warner, Steve Smith and Starc), three Indians (Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ravichandran Ashwin) and two Englishmen (James Anderson and Ben Stokes), alongside the three Proteas.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article