Former UGA player Matt Stinchcomb elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Gladys Abbott
January 9, 2018

Frank Beamer and Mack Brown were among the 13 players and coaches selected to the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame on Monday.

Mack Brown served the University of Texas from 1998 to 2013 for a total of 16 years.

The legendary MI defensive back was informed on Sunday during ESPN's "NFL Countdown" that he will be inducted into the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame.

Woodson recorded 18 interceptions during his three-year stint at MI, and was drafted fourth overall by the Oakland Raiders during the 1998 NFL Draft.

He is now the third Longhorn Football coach to join the group, joining D.X. Bible (1937-1946) and Darrell Royal (1957-1976).

Dickenson was inducted into the CFL Hall of Fame in 2015 and was named the league's coach of the year in 2016.

More news: South Korea to honor 2015 'comfort women' accord with Japan

Woodson is eligible for entry in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2021.

After a dominant career at the University of MI that saw him become the first primarily defensive player to win the Heisman Trophy, Woodson was selected fourth overall in the 1998 NFL Draft by the Oakland Raiders.

Woodson served as honorary captain during Michigan's November 25 against Ohio State, and is slated to be inducted this spring into the University of Michigan's Hall of Honor.

Others of note on the list were receiver Calvin Johnson of Georgia Tech, quarterback Kerry Collins of Penn State, defensive back Ed Reed of Miami and tailback Paul Palmer of Temple.

In addition, 75 FBS players, as well as 98 players and 31 coaches from the divisional ranks are included on the 2018 ballot. Taylor was a Huskers center and left guard from 1994-'97.

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class", said NFF chairman Archie Manning.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article