Electoral body releases timetable for 2019 polls

Lynette Rowe
January 11, 2018

Awka - The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Anambra state has announced that only 14 candidates would participate in the January 13, 2018 re-run election in Anambra Central Senatorial district.

Speaking at the event, Chairman of INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu appealed to political parties to adhere strictly to the 2019 Election timetable.

Mr. Yakubu said that political campaigns by political parties for Presidential Election and NASS elections would commence on November 18 and end on January 14, 2019; while that of governorship and State Houses of Assembly would start on December 1 and end on February 28, 2019.

This brings the total number of Political Parties in Nigeria to 68.

The Presidential and National Assembly elections are expected to hold on February 16, 2019 while the governorship and state legislative elections will hold on March 2, 2019.

"We are going by the orders of the Court of Appeal that INEC should conduct a fresh election within 90 days and the position of the court has not changed".

"Presidential and National Assembly Elections; December 1, for Governorship and State Assembly elections and December 2, for the FCT Area Council elections".

Orji explained that Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is excluded as a court had barred the party from fielding any candidate whenever the election would be re-conducted.

More news: Frightening fiery crash between two planes at Toronto's Pearson airport

Yakubu said that the commission would release the cost of 2019 general elections after its meeting scheduled for Thursday.

He assured Nigerians that the commission is up to the task despite the enormous challenges of providing ballot papers for a projected 80 million registered voters, ad hoc staff and the requirements for forward and reverse logistics, monitoring of political parties primaries, electioneering campaign among other.

The Chairman said that political parties were also expected to submit names of their agents for the elections on February 1, 2019.

According to him, the decision of the commission to fix election dates is to engender certainty in the nation's electoral calendar and to enable all stakeholders to prepare adequately for elections, as is the case in many mature and developing democracies.

Governorship, National/State Assemblies candidates are also to have been picked on the same date.

In addition to outlining the deadline to select candidates, the timetable stated that official campaigns for the presidential parliamentary elections would begin on November 18.

The commission according to Mr. Yakubu would on October 25 publish the personal particulars of National elections candidates on October 25 and those of the state candidates on November 9.

The election will be conducted in seven local government areas that constitute Anambra Central Senatorial District namely: Awka North, Awka South, Idemili North, Idemili South, Aniocha, Njikoka and Dunukofia.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article