Sonia Gandhi says 'time to retire'; 'not from politics,' clarifies Congress

Frederick Owens
December 16, 2017

The Congress had on Monday named 47-year-old Rahul as President-elect and the transition of power from the mother to the son is scheduled for Saturday. The face of Patidar campaigning, Hardik Patel who is 25 years old, has affirmed support for Congress party, and has actually raised the problem at almost every meeting.

Indian National Congress (INC) is India's grand old political party and even after 132-years is still going strong amidst winds of change and political crisis.

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Sonia Gandhi, current and former Chief Ministers, MPs, senior Congress leaders, and all PCC chiefs and delegates will be present at the handing over ceremony. The Congress Party who clearly enclosed the bitter pill with the Election Commission blocking Rahul Gandhi's interview on Wednesday has now lodged a complaint.

Reacting to the EC order, Shreyans Shah, owner of the Gujarat Samachar group that operates GSTV television said, "The interview run by GSTV was about the induction of Rahul Gandhi as the Congress president".

Though the delegation members did not speak to media on record, sources said they submitted a memorandum to the EC where they accused the opposition party of misleading the poll watchdog and called the attack on it "unfortunate". After chairing and managing Congress for the past 19 years' time has come for new blood to take over and Sonia's legacy will be how she stepped up to the plate from reluctant politician to a politician who rejuvenated, united Congress and always fought for people's rights and proved that her heart bleeds for India and is a true patriot. This resulted in an outpouring of support and the expulsion of the three rebels from the party.

More news: Patriots must monitor Tom Brady's lack of arm strength after Dolphins loss

She contested Lok Sabha elections from Bellary, Karnataka and Amethi, Uttar Pradesh in 1999 and won both seats.

In Bellary, she had defeated BJP leader, Sushma Swaraj.

In the 2004 General Elections, she led her party which successfully formed a coalition government (UPA) at the Centre.

As Leader of Opposition, she had called a no-confidence motion against the Vajpayee government in 2003.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article