Colin Kaepernick a finalist for Time's 2017 Person of the Year

Frederick Owens
December 5, 2017

The outlet announced its 10 nominees for the annual title on Monday, with last year's victor, President Trump, quarterback Colin Kaepernick and North Korean leader Kim Jong-un among the selections. His silent protest has morphed into a commentary by many across the country against President Trump. It's been awarded to notable people since 1927. American Women (1975) and the computer (1982) have been named in the past.

He's best known for being the founder, chairman, and CEO of, the world's largest online shopping retailer.

They are the thousands of immigrants brought to the United States illegally as children. She is also the first female director of an American superhero movie. Patty Jenkins' "Wonder Woman" smashed records at the box office this summer and women everywhere celebrated.

Repeated ballistic missile tests and a back-and-forth war of words with President Donald Trump from the North Korean Leader has intensified the threat of nuclear war in American minds.

Kaepernick in 2016 became the first NFL player to take a knee during the national anthem before games. The protests have swept the National Football League this year and have even drawn attention from the President of the United States.

Kapernick is now not signed with a team, and recently filed a grievance against NFL owners, who he said blackballed him within the league.

Colin Kaepernick a finalist for Time's 2017 Person of the Year

The #MeToo Movement was started by actress Alyssa Milano, 44, on Twitter and it shed light on the prevalence of sexual harassment and assault when thousands of women shared their stories on social media in the wake of the Harvey Weinstein scandal.

Mueller is spearheading an investigation into Russian interference in the 2016 presidential election.

The 32-year-old crown prince was elevated by his father, King Salman, in June. Two weeks ago, he claimed to have turned down an offer for this year's honor.

Time's shortlist consists of ten people editors will choose from to designate as 2017's Person of the Year.

Trump tweeted last month that Time told him he was "probably" going to receive the title for a second straight year, but said he wasn't interested.

More news: Jim Harbaugh fires back at Michigan State, Mark Dantonio in fiery tweet

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article