WhatsApp's deleted messages can still be read: Here's how it works

Isaac Cain
November 17, 2017

Once you discard the message notification it will be recorded in the notiication logs.

Alternatively users can download a notification history app, which displays a list of all your recent notifications.

On the flip side, the messages in notification log remain saved until the device is restarted.

WhatsApp had recently rolled out its much anticipated Delete for Everyone feature for its users.

After downloading the app, users will have to search the message in the Android notification log. It can be done just by entering the notification history to check the message that has been deleted by the sender using "Delete For Everyone". Similarly, if you see "This message was deleted" in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone. The user selects "Delete for everyone" and the message disappears from the conversation and can no longer be read by the intended recipient. If you were in the chat when the message was sent and no notification was generated there will be no record in the notification logs. It is also noteworthy that you will only be able to retrieve the deleted text messages and no media files - be it images, videos or any other.

The report suggests that anyone can read the deleted message sent to them on WhatsApp using any third-party app. The message will be in the line that says "android.text". Just long press the home screen, and then click of Widgets.

That's how simple it is to view those deleted messages. It's a reminder that once a message or a photo is off your phone, you don't control it, no matter what comfort blankets your app might provide.

More news: A lightning fast rally in oil prices is reversing. Here's why

While users may not be able to see the message within WhatsApp after it is deleted, they can still see it in the notification log. However, you're safe if you accidentally sent a photo or video to someone you shouldn't have, and deleted it afterward.

Also, BTW, only the first 100 characters of their deleted message will be visible to you. According to Android Jefe, only when the system detects these events does it save a message in the registry.

However, during MailOnline's testing, the recipient had to have read the message before it was deleted for it to appear in the Notification Log.

The blog further explains that anyone can access deleted messages sent to them either via the Notification Log on the Android device or via a third-party app called Notification History, which is available on Google Play.

The discovery raises important security issues with WhatsApp.

A spokesperson for WhatsApp told Tech Republic that the message deletion option doesn't delete notifications.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER