Who needs what for World Cup qualification

Gwen Vasquez
October 12, 2017

Pot 1 is made up of Russian Federation (as the host country), Germany, Brazil, Portugal, Argentina, Belgium, Poland and France.

The friendly against South Korea was Russia's first global test since they exited the Confederations Cup at the group stage in June, which added to a long list of recent failures.

Eight teams will be placed in a pot for a total of four, with one team selected from each pot to form a group.

Iran, three-times Asian champions, finished first in their qualifying group for the World Cup.

Nigeria became the first African side to qualify for next summer's finals with a 1-0 win over Zambia on Saturday and Egypt joined them thanks to a 2-1 victory over Congo on Sunday.

Two-legged intercontinental playoffs next month between countries from four different confederations will determine the identity of two further qualifiers. Teams from England, Brazil, Iran, Japan, Mexico, Belgium, South Korea, Saudi Arabia and Germany have already qualified, with Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland still hoping to earn a place.

More news: Facebook Users Experience Downtime Of Popular Website

Iran and Russia national soccer teams drew 1-1 in a friendly match in Kazan, Russia, on Tuesday.

The victor of that match will face the CONCACAF federation's fourth-placed team for a spot in Russia.

Costa Rica and Mexico will be heading to Russian Federation. Phase one, part one began September 14 and ends on October 12.

Panama now occupy fourth, which carries with it a play-off against Australia or Syria.

New Zealand won the Oceania section, but with only half a place on offer to the region will now have to face fifth place South American finisher Peru for the right to play on the world stage.

There are 22 answers, including some teams that only qualified once. Those rankings are due out on the 16th and just in time for the draw.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article