Uefa Nations League: how the four leagues will line up

Lynette Rowe
October 12, 2017

THE Uefa Nations League could turn into a repeat of the Carling Nations Cup - with Ireland being potentially grouped with Northern Ireland and Wales.

Chris Coleman's side had been on course to challenge the likes of England, Germany, Spain, Italy and France for the inaugural title in European football's third major worldwide competition but lost out by less than 600 coefficient points.

A four-game finals tournament for the League A teams will be held in June 2019.

That means missing out on the potential for games against Germany, Italy, Spain and England, who are among the dozen teams to qualify for League A.

The four teams finishing bottom of their group will be relegated.

The finer details of the Nations League can be found over on UEFA's website.

There are four tiers and nations have been placed with teams of similar ability.

The very top sides in Europe also have a new biennial global honour to compete for - the UEFA Nations League trophy; a three-match mini-tournament hosted at a single venue during June in the years between major finals.

More news: Giants WR Brandon Marshall out for the season

Wales just missed out on League A, edged out by Netherlands, with Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland also in League B with them.

League A will consist of the 12 top-ranked teams.

A repeat next year would likely garner more interest given the successes of all three sides while Uefa's new competition involves home and away fixtures.

How does the Uefa Nations League work? .

Split into four leagues - A, B, C and D - the inaugural competition will see Uefa's 55 member associations play group stage matches from September 2018 and the finals from 5-9 June 2019. The four group-winning teams in the division groups will progress to a final round to determine a champion.

While the competition is completely separate to qualifiers for the European Championships, the top four-ranked League B teams who don't qualify will be entered into play-offs (to take place in March 2020).

So basically, there are four leagues - A, B, C and D - in which sides have been placed according to their position in the Uefa National Team Coefficient Rankings following the end of the European Qualifiers for the 2018 FIFA World Cup (play-off results will not be included).

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article