Sri Lanka bat first in pivotal clash

Frederick Owens
October 19, 2017

Pakistan and Sri Lanka now move on to Sharjah for the final two ODIs of the series, before heading back to Abu Dhabi for the first T20Is and then on to Lahore for the third.

With an aim to clinch the five-match One-Day International (ODI) series, Pakistan take on Sri Lanka in the third match at Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. He achieved this feat in just 26 innings.

Paceman Hasan Ali took a career best 5-34 to dismiss Sri Lanka for 208 in 48.2 overs before Imam-ul-Haq scored a debut hundred as Pakistan reached the target with 7.3 overs to spare.

Hasan got the breakthrough when he bowled the unsafe Dickwella (18) with one that kept low and Dinesh Chandimal was trapped leg before by a Shadab Khan googly after making only 19 from 49 balls. Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shahzad, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Amir Yamin, Mohammad Amir (subject to fitness clearance), Rumman Raees, Usman Shinwari, Umar Amin.

More news: Ford recalling 1.3 million F-series pickups

Sri Lanka have thus far suffered nine back to back defeats in ODIs.

Former India pacer Ajit Agarkar is second in the list. The host side defeated Sri Lanka in the second ODI by 32 runs of the five-match series in Abu Dhabi.

Sri Lanka (From): Niroshan Dickwella (w), Upul Tharanga (c), Kusal Mendis, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Milinda Siriwardana, Thisara Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamara Kapugedera, Seekkuge Prasanna.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article