Paul Auster among diverse 2017 Man Booker Prize shortlist

Danny Woods
September 13, 2017

Two first-time female writers - Fridlund and Mozley - are joined by two previously shortlisted authors, Hamid, who had been short-listed in 2007 for "The Reluctant Fundamentalist", and Smith, who made the cut for the fourth time.

British-Pakistani writer Mohsin Hamid makes his second appearance in the world's most prestigious English-language literary award list published on Wednesday.

"With six unique and intrepid books that collectively push against the borders of convention, this year's shortlist both acknowledges established authors and introduces new voices to the literary stage", said Young.

Mozley was picked for her first novel, the story of a man and his children who retreat to live in a copse in Yorkshire's West Riding, Elmet. "The emotional, cultural, political and intellectual range of these books is remarkable, and the ways in which they challenge our thinking is a testament to the power of literature". However, the two writers did not make it to the shortlist.

Arundhati Roy, who had been longlisted for the prize in July for her latest novel, The Ministry of Utmost Happiness, failed to find a place in the shortlist.

The competition is judged by chair Baroness Lola Young, Lila Azam Zanganeh, Sarah Hall, Tom Phillips and Colin Thubron.

The other two American authors on the shortlist are Paul Auster and George Saunders.

More news: North Korea Sanctions: Brace For 'Worst Case Scenario'

U.S. author Paul Auster has been shortlisted - for the first time - for the world's most prestigious English-language literary award for his novel "4321".

The victor will be announced October 17 during a ceremony in London's medieval Guildhall, after the five judges meet for a final time to reduce their list from six books to one. The list also features 2 debut novelists, one each from the United States and the UK. Each of the shortlisted authors will be awarded £2,500.

U.S. author Paul Beatty won in 2016 was for his novel "The Sellout".

First awarded in 1969, the victor of the Man Booker will receive £50,000, while the short-listed writers each receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book.

The Man Booker Prize just announced the shortlist for 2017 and it seems that there are quite a few hits and misses. Its list of winners includes numerous giants of the last four decades, from Salman Rushdie to Hilary Mantel, Iris Murdoch to Ian McEwan.

Man Group, an active investment management firm, has sponsored the prize since 2002.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article