Nine former Broncos among Pro Football Hall of Fame's 2018 class nominees

Lynette Rowe
September 13, 2017

With all those accomplishments, it's no surprise to look at the official list of Hall of Fame nominees for the class of 2018 and see the name "Steve Smith" under wide receivers, underlined as a newly eligible player.

Rod Smith, who entered the league as an undrafted free agent, played 12 NFL seasons (all with the Broncos) and retired with 849 receptions for 11,389 yards and 68 touchdowns.

The former Georgia defensive lineman was the sixth overall pick by the Patriots in the 2001 NFL Draft and was with the franchise from 2001-2008.

A five-time Pro Bowler and three-time All-Pro, Bennett would go to win two AFC Defensive Player of the Year awards and played in five Super Bowls.

That group will be whittled to 25 semifinalists in November and 15 finalists in January.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2018 will be formally enshrined next August in Canton. Therefore, any individual who last played or coached in 2012 are eligible for the first time in 2018). From there, 15 finalists will be named in January and the final vote will take place February 3.

More news: Thousands Convene in Bengaluru to Condemn Murder of Journalist Gauri Lankesh

At the suggestion of former college roommate Nate Hobgood-Chittick, then-Colts general manager Bill Polian made a decision to give Saturday a tryout the following year.

The Senior Finalists and Contributor Finalist are voted "yes" or "no" for election at the annual selection meeting and must receive at least 80 percent support from the Committee to be elected.

Offensive linemen: Willie Anderson (T), Matt Birk (C), Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Ruben Brown (G), Ray Donaldson (C), Alan Faneca (G), Bill Fralic (G/T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Steve Hutchinson (G), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Kevin Mawae (C/G), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), Bart Oates (C), Jeff Saturday (C), Richmond Webb (T), Steve Wisniewski (G). Another nominee, defensive end Simeon Rice spent one season with the Colts.

Quarterbacks: Randall Cunningham, Rich Gannon, Donovan McNabb, Steve McNair, Phil Simms.

Defensive backs: Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Ronde Barber (CB/S), LeRoy Butler (S), Brian Dawkins (SS), Rodney Harrison (S), Ty Law (CB), Albert Lewis (CB), John Lynch (S), Dennis Smith (S), Everson Walls (CB), Darren Woodson (S).

Kickers/punters: K Gary Anderson, P Sean Landeta, K Nick Lowery.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article