Special EC pens for Presidential poll

Isaac Cain
July 17, 2017

The voting to elect the next President of India is underway in Parliament and state assemblies.

Additionally, 3,460 or 71 out of 4,852 MPs and MLAs broke down are multi-tycoons according to their self-sworn oaths submitted to the Election Commission at the season of selection for challenging decisions.

The MLAs or MPs will not be allowed to take pen, pencil or mobile phones inside the polling area besides strict security arrangement would be in place during the elections. Before five days President Pranab Mukherjee's term will expire. "When member come out of voting chamber special pen will be taken back by polling staff and would be handed over his/her pen if he/she was carrying", the note added.

"Before entering the voting chamber, a polling staff will collect personal pens from the voters and hand over the special pen to mark their vote on the ballot paper", an EC spokesperson said. In June a year ago, 12 votes during the RS polls from the state were marked using the wrong pen and were declared invalid after which the Congress party alleged that the original pen was "replaced".

The pens for the presidential polls were introduced following a controversy that broke out during voting in the Rajya Sabha polls in Haryana in September 2016.

More news: 'Spider-Man: Homecoming' delivers humor, adventure fun

In another first, the poll watchdog has also prepared special posters carrying dos and don'ts for the voters.

EC has appointed 33 observers to oversee the conduct of the election.

As many as 3,460 members of parliament and members of legislative assemblies have declared assets worth more than Rs. 1 crore. Ram Nath Kovind, the Governor of Bihar and Meira Kumar, the former Speaker of Lok Sabha were announced as candidates of NDA and Opposition respectively. The ballot boxes will be brought to Delhi for counting on July 20.

The electoral college for the President consists of all Members of Parliament from both the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha (excluding nominated members) and MLAs of State Legislatures.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article