Another award watch list for Marcell Frazier of #Mizzou

Danny Woods
July 13, 2017

The 6-6, 303-lb. offensive lineman from Olathe, Kan., finished as an all-SEC first team performer in 2016 and received All-America honors from CBS Sports (second team) and Phil Steele (third team).

Offensive tackle Cam Robinson of Alabama was last season's victor.

Morgan started all 12 games at linebacker last season.

Down the stretch, Allen was instrumental in providing consistency to an injury-riddled offensive line that started seven different combinations.

Gary, the No. 1 overall recruit in 2016, had 27 tackles - five for a loss - and a sack while playing in all 13 games.

Okoronkwo had his best season of his career past year, recording 67 tackles, 12 tackles for a loss and nine sacks earning him a second-team All-Big 12 selection in 2016.

The FWAA will announce a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week throughout the season and, in conjunction with the Charlotte Touchdown Club, announce five finalists for the 2017 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on November 16.

More news: Anderson Cooper Exasperates with Gorka During Testy Don Jr. Debate: 'Oh Jesus'

A two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree, Allen is majoring in economics.

The Outland Trophy victor is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee then takes input from the entire membership, before selecting a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. But the most recent victor was John Henderson, who won it in 2000 and then came back in 2001 and almost won it again.

The Outland Trophy, selected by the FWAA, is given to the top interior lineman in the nation.

Out of 81 Outland Award candidates at least six semifinalists will be named November 15.

The Outland Trophy named after John Outland has been given every year since 1946.

A total of 81 players are on the initial Outland Trophy Watch list, which is presented to the top interior lineman in college football. The overall victor will be chosen on December 7 at the Home Depot College Football Awards show. The formal presentation of the award will be made on January 10, 2018 in Omaha, Neb. Former Florida State coach Bobby Bowden will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article