San Francisco issues subpoenas for Uber, Lyft driver records

Gladys Abbott
June 7, 2017

Gov. Andrew Cuomo signed legislation late Monday allowing Uber and Lyft to begin service in cities like Buffalo, Rochester, Syracuse and Albany as well as all of Long Island on June 29.

Uber is already involved in a legal battle with San Francisco officials, over demands that the ride-hailing company shares its drivers' names and addresses.

Clinton County Deputy Administrator Rodney Brown said he and his wife, Sarah, used Uber almost 10 times during a recent five-day trip to Washington, D.C., and came away impressed by the convenience and relatively low cost of the service.

The Cab Drivers United union, which is affiliated with the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees, contends the city hasn't done enough to help taxi drivers compete.

"We never had to wait more than three to five minutes for our ride", said Brown, noting it remains to be seen whether many people will want to drive for Uber or Lyft in the North Country.

Fare was one of many ride-sharing services that rolled into Austin following Proposition 1 and Uber and Lyft's exit last spring.

More news: Summer Reading Program kicks off at RSF Library

Alix Anfang, an Uber spokesperson, said the company will launch its services in upstate cities prior to the Fourth of July.

A Lyft spokeswoman said that 30 percent of rides in San Francisco take place in underserved neighborhoods, and 20 percent begin or end at a public transit station, underscoring its collaboration with public transit agencies.

A Lyft spokeswoman said the company is reviewing the subpoena, and noted Lyft is focused on improving access to transportation for all people.

His request seeks all annual reports submitted by Uber and Lyft to the commission since 2013. "We also have a track record of working collaboratively with policymakers who regulate us, including the (PUC) here in California, to ensure that our service complements existing transportation options".

A package of laws that made it possible for ride-sharing companies to start operating statewide was approved in April, but the state constitution requires that any new legislation not become law for 90 days after it is approved.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER