NHL: Connor McDavid was named the most valuable player of the season

Lynette Rowe
June 27, 2017

Edmonton captain Connor McDavid has won his first Hart Trophy as the NHL's most valuable player.

Crosby joins three active players with at least seven berths on an National Hockey League postseason All-Star Team: Alex Ovechkin (6 First Team, 3 Second Team), Jaromir Jagr (7 First Team, 1 Second Team) and Zdeno Chara (3 First Team, 4 Second Team). He was the central figure (sorry Cam Talbot) in Edmonton's first post-season in a decade.

In order to win his first Hart Trophy, McDavid bested Sidney Crosby and Sergei Bobrovsky for the award. Bobrovsky, the first Russian to win the award twice, and Tortorella played major roles in the Blue Jackets' revival for the best season in franchise history. The Young Stars Edition also features 20 Gold Plus Packs for Hockey Ultimate Team and a Rookie HUT item from a team of the player's choice.

He had the league's best goals-against average of 2.06. McDavid led the league with 100 points, 11 points ahead of runner-ups Sidney Crosby and Patrick Kane.

Columbus' Sergei Bobrovsky has won his second Vezina Trophy as the NHL's top goalie.

While Crosby didn't claim the Hart, the back-to-back Stanley Cup champion won the Richard Trophy as the NHL's top goal-scorer.

More news: US 'regrets' Russian decision to cancel talks

Karlsson may have had eight more minor penalties than Tarasenko, but he also played nearly 600 more minutes. Quite probably. Here's a look at which players and coaches are up for awards, who The Star thinks should win, and the odds from Bodog.

San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns took the James Norris Memorial Trophy as the league's best defenseman.

Jack Adams Award: The Blue Jackets' remarkable year was headed up by Tortorella, and the fiery bench boss only adds to his impressive resume with the second Jack Adams Award of his career. Emelin has been with Montreal for the past five seasons, while Methot has spent the last five years with the Senators as the longtime defensive partner of Norris Trophy finalist Erik Karlsson. Per Elias, he is the second defenseman to have at least a share of the team lead in goals, assists and points in a season (Kevin Hatcher in 1990-91). Bergeron joined Hall of Famer Bob Gainey, who presented the award, as the only players to win the Selke four times.

Toronto forward Auston Matthews is the runaway victor of the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie. The Flames winger wasn't exactly a shoo-in for the award, but it was hard for things not to lean in Gaudreau's favor given he played 70 games and found himself in the penalty box only twice all season.

Ottawa goalie Craig Anderson won the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. And, as has become customary, the NHL Awards also brought word about the game's cover star.

Other reports by LeisureTravelAid

Discuss This Article